TIOcoop spacer TIOcoop spacer TIOcoop
Game Menu New

NovaHQ Top 50



Community Forums › Nova-Outpost › General Chat › Server Name, Did anyone know?
Server Name, Did anyone know?

Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page     Forum Index ›  General Chat

View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 370
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:00 pm
Post subject: Server Name, Did anyone know?

Putting a server up is quite an easy job to do. Host the game and change/open some ports...

Not so yesterday, i spent hours trying to work out why my server won't show in the BHD Game Lobby, i had thought it was due to a new modem i received a few days before but no that was not the issue.

It turns out you are not allowed to use the name NOVA in a server title
I changed the game name to Nova-Outpost and it won't show in the BHD Game Lobby, change it to abc123 and it works, shows up in list.
I tried changing the 'o' in nova to 0 (number) and it still didn't work

So any server hosted by us will have 'Outpost' in the name e.g.
Outpost-1, TIO92-Outpost, JOIC-Outpost...

This ban in names is not limited to BHD but EVERY Nova game i have tried so far.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
tedsmelly
Private
Private


Joined: Oct 28, 2013
Posts: 9
Location: Qld Australia
PostPosted: Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:55 pm
Post subject: Re: Server Name, Did anyone know?

Didn't know that Blade, they reserved anything to do with their name or anything close. Good on you John, didn't know you owned the English language.

_________________
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website Photo Gallery
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 370
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Wed Mar 29, 2017 6:22 am
Post subject: Re: Server Name, Did anyone know?

Well to top it off you can't even use the word 'nova' in the server message in JO or you will get the NWEC60 error
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Scott
Private
Private


Joined: Aug 11, 2015
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 1:41 am
Post subject: Re: Server Name, Did anyone know?

I always hated that because I could never host a game with our NOVAHQ name :(. Not even N.O.V.A works.

You can use special chars to bypass it but then those characters won't show in the lobby anyways. They might show in the game message for bhd however.
Back to top
View user's profile
~BLÃÐE~
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: Jun 15, 2008
Posts: 370
Location: Gold Coast - AU
PostPosted: Wed Apr 05, 2017 6:56 am
Post subject: Re: Server Name, Did anyone know?

Scott wrote:
They might show in the game message for bhd however.

BHD Game Message works fine with nova, just JO Game Message doesn't work. And Server Name of course.
Back to top
View user's profile Visit poster's website ICQ Number
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic    Reply to topic    Printer Friendly Page    Forum Index ›  General Chat
Page 1 of 1
All times are GMT + 10 Hours



Jump to:  


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum
You cannot attach files in this forum
You cannot download files in this forum




Delta Force Xtreme 2
The logos and trademarks used on this site are the property of their respective owners
We are not responsible for comments posted by our users, as they are the property of the poster
copyright@nova-outpost.com
Interactive software released under GNU GPL, Code Credits, Privacy Policy